Faith

A picture of Jesus standing at a door and knocking

I was looking through my tag cloud and realized that I have posted a number of times on the principle of repentance.  This is a principle that is close to my heart because I know that our Savior is able to help us overcome our challenges and weaknesses that we can return to live with our Heavenly Father.  I also like talking about repentance because I think that too many people see repentance as a bad thing and I am trying to change that paradigm–because repentance is part of Heavenly Father’s plan.  He knows that we will make mistakes and so He has lovingly provided a way for us to overcome these things.

However, as I recognized how much I have spoken on repentance, I realized that I haven’t spoken much on the principle of faith.  That is like trying to teach someone to run without first making sure they can walk first!  So let me repent and share a few ideas about faith.

When Alma taught by the waters of Mormon, he was given the authority to establish a church.  He ordained priests and had the priests teach the people.  What did Alma have them teach?  “Yea, even he commanded them that they should preach nothing save it were repentance and faith on the Lord, who had redeemed his people.” (see Mosiah 18:18-20).  These priests ONLY taught about Faith and Repentance.  These two principles are so important that it became the focus of their teachings–and it helped convert over 200 people to the gospel.

As member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, “We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the Gospel are: first, Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ; second, Repentance…” (Articles of Faith 1:4).  Faith is fundamental, but this isn’t just any faith, this is faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.  I work out at the gym because I have faith that good exercise including cardio and resistance training, coupled with healthy eating, will make me healthier and happier.  When I was at school I studied for my tests because I had faith that I would then be able to recall the things I had studied when the test came.  However, neither of these two examples of faith would be faith sufficient to save me.

We need to have faith in the Lord Jesus Christ if we are going to make it in this world, and in the world hereafter.  Our Heavenly Father has declared, “For I the Lord cannot look upon sin with the least degree of allowance” (see D&C 1:31), so He provided a way for us to repent and be cleansed from our sins.  However, before we are at the stage in life where we can feel comfortable repenting, we need to first develop faith in the Savior.  We cannot repent, we cannot have hope for eternal life, if we first don’t believe that our Savior can help us achieve these things.

I can declare that I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior.  I know that because I have felt the power of the Holy Ghost testifying to me of the truthfulness of these things (see John 15:26 and 3 Ne 11:32&35).  I also know that because I have studied the scriptures and believe what they say.  I have heard testimony from apostles and prophets regarding this principle (see Romans 10:17).  However, my faith in Jesus Christ as my Savior and Redeemer will not help you unless it leads you to also believe in these things.  This is something we all must obtain for ourselves because we must have faith in Jesus Christ or else we will not repent, and we must repent or else we will not be able to live with God again.

Will you develop your faith through studying the scriptures, listening to the prophets and apostles, and seeking the confirmation of the Holy Ghost?

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Faith”

  1. Alma, the Younger, and Faith « Finding the Best in Life Says:

    […] If you enjoyed this post, you may also enjoy my post on Faith, Hope, and Charity or my post on Faith […]

Leave a Reply

