The Joy of Fatherhood

Hyrum smiling

I asked my wife what she thought that I should blog about and she said, “something simple like…something that you learned from Hyrum this past week.”  I like that idea!  Hyrum is adorable–he is almost 5 months old now and his personality is coming through.  He loves blankets, hates going to sleep (go figure those two going together), and is very observant.

Our Savior said, “Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 18:3).  There are a lot of things that we can learn from little children such as unconditional love, complete trust and faith, humility, and purity.  There are also a lot of things that you can learn when you care for a little child (such as Hyrum) such as patience, godliness, selflessness, charity, and temperance.  Obviously these are the things that our Savior was talking about when He suggested that we become as a little child.

I did want to mention one lesson in particular that Hyrum taught me about today.  Like I said above, Hyrum hates to go to sleep and he can tell when you are trying to get him to sleep–he especially hates being cradled in your arms and rocked while lying on his back if he is tired because he knows that the eventual end-state is sleep.  Today he just didn’t want to go to sleep!  He fought so hard and so valiantly against sleeping–even though he was extremely tired.  He screamed until he turned purple and got so upset that his nose got a little plugged and no matter what we did he would not be consoled.  We could tell that he was very tired but for whatever reason today he decided that he would not fall asleep.  Besides the increase in patience that I needed in order to calmly sooth him, I admired his undaunted and determined spirit.  There are some things in life that you’ve got to fight for, and today Hyrum was fighting to stay awake.  What a champ!

I am grateful for our little guy and his happy (usually) personality.  He is a joy to have in our home and I am grateful for a loving Heavenly Father who is helping me to be a better father and is teaching me through my son!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

